The Day The Earth Stood Still Review

[Will Update with a video Review later on today]

page0_blog_entry16_1When I first heard that they were making a remake of this film, the first thought that came into my head was “Why in the Hell do they keep making remakes!?” but then when the trailers were being released I started to like the idea of the film.

The Sum Up

In this Adaptation the premise revolves around a woman and her kid (just like the original) and the mother just so happens to be a biologist and she gets taken to a football stadium where they then taken to an area and where told that something will land on earth in their exact city (which just so happens to be Manhattan, Like every other big movie something HUGEhappens in NYC). Well, they find out that this thing coming to earth is a big giant cloud ball. Something come out of it, and it Klaatu the alien who warns them that if they do not change they will all be wiped out. (Again exactly like the original)

The Good

Here is where I stand on this movie. I liked it, I really liked it. But, it’s not one of those movie’s that you have to see. The reason I liked this movie so much has to do with my beliefs. This movie has the most essential Humanist element that people need to understand. Yes,we as a human race are violent, misguided, gorillas. But there is something that we have that this movie tries to explain, that we have emotion.

(Than again I doubt that’s what the filmmakers who made this had in mind when they conceived the idea for this remake)

The Bad

This movie had (by far) the worst graphics for a large hollywood film that I have ever seen. I mean some of the scenes had CGI where they did need them. Not to mention the fact that you’d think that with Keanu Reeves on board with this movie that it would have better graphic than the Matrix and that movie came out in ’97. I hope in the future that Keanu can research the studio’s before he signs on to do the movie, cause I’m guessing that this movie is going to do very good.

I mean no offense to Keanu, or the studio how financed and made that movie but COME ON PEOPLE!!!!!! IF MY RETARDED LITTLE SISTER CAN MAKE FUN OF HOW SHITTY THE GRAPHICS ARE THAN HOW DO YOU THINK A WELL TRAINED CRITICS IS GOING TO DO!!!!! EAT YOU ALIVE IS WHAT I SAY!!!!

Plus, we went to go see it the day after it came out and there were 50 people there!!! And from what I understand a theater can hold up to maybe 150 people. I’m not sure though I’m just guessing!!!!

All-in-All

I’ll give this movie a 6.5 out of 10 Just becuase of the humanity thing.

~ by soggiehasnoface on December 15, 2008.

One Response to “The Day The Earth Stood Still Review”

  1. We also went to a showing at 2:30…

    I personally did NOT like it and found it a waste of money. Yes, the graphics were terrible. Also, was this a REMAKE or did they just decide to take the name and make a completely different movie? Where was “The decision rests with you.” and maybe they said “Klaatu barada nikto.” but I didn’t hear it. It was a lame, horrible attempt at a remake. You always go on about how people need to respect the source material. Well, this is one moment in which the source material was greatly ignored.

    Even if I were to NOT compare it to the original, it falls flat. I was not moved. I did not care. It rushed into destruction, giving me no time to care about anything. Oh, the theme was that we all have emotion? I didn’t even catch that. It was bad storytelling.

    I would NOT recommend this to anyone.

Leave a comment